Lake Pukaki and Lake Tekapo

The most beautiful blue I have ever seen! New Zealand was showing off the best of its nature.

It was about 3,5 hours to drive from Alexandra, where I stayed on the South Island. Over the Lindis Pass and through a valley. The landscape was just breathtaking what made it quite hard to concentrate on the road.

My first stop was Lake Pukaki. And I swear I’ve never seen a blue like that in nature before. It looked like it was photoshopped, but it was there right before my eyes. On the horizon the mountains of the Southern Alps. It was a hot day with a fresh breeze and that’s why the snow on the mountains looked so unreal. I don’t know if it’s allowed to take a swim there but I would have if I had brought my swimsuit.

The highway goes right along the lakeside so I got an incredible view from many different angles on the lake as I drove on. Through another valley I got into the small town of Lake Tekapo. Not much further and I took the left turn towards the Church of the Good Shepherd. It’s a small church with only a couple rows of benches and a big window behind the altar with a stunning view on the lake with the Southern Alps and Mount Cook. It think it might even be the smallest church I have seen so far. There’s a path that goes down to the lakefront which is pretty rocky so you have to be careful. But the water was amazing! On the right side of the church was a path that led to the memorial of the Good Shepherd. A statue of a shepherd that points towards the church. The whole view was indescribably. I understand now why it attracts so many tourists.

On my way back I wanted to drive up to the Mt John Observatory but the wind was too strong so they closed the road. Instead I had a second stop at Lake Pukaki just to get some more of that blue water and fresh breeze before I hat to go on my drive back to Alexandra.

I wish I had more time planned for that trip, but it was definitely one of the best ones so far!

Lake Pukaki
Church of the Good Shepherd and Lake Tekapo
Monument of the Good Shepherd and Lake Tekapo
Leave a Reply

