Mahana Bay – Green Sand Beach

In the south of the Big Island you can find something more rare than the lava flows. One of only 4 green sand beaches in the world. It’s very tricky to get there, but the way is totally worth it.

We parked the car in the parking lot and started walking. We walked  along the coast with nothing else around. The street was nothing more that tracks in the sand so deep, that not even all 4WD cars can drive on them. For about one hour we walked uphill and downhill with no shadow in the afternoon sun. Only the wind kept us from getting too hot. We thought about how we could have bought a ride for 10$ each from some guys who spend their whole day driving up and down on the tracks with their almost completely broken cars. But still we enjoyed the walk and had good conversations along the way.

Then finally we saw those cars parked around a couple of picnic tables. We walked a bit closer to the coast and got an amazing view on the small bay with the green sand beach at the end. Clear, blue water and a color of sand that I’ve never seen before. There were stairs going down the hill along the rocks on the one side. It was steep and after about 15 steps the wooden steps were gone and we climbed down the hill on sandy stairs. As soon as we got on the beach we threw our towels to the ground and got in the water. The way made us all sweaty and hot so we really needed to cool off.

I will never forget the color of the sand. Don’t get me wrong ofcpurse the name says it, but still I didn’t expect it to be such a clear green. I was thinking that it would be more of a dirty yellow than how it really is. The waves were huge in my opinion. I don’t know how high the waves get when people surf on them but the ones at the green sand beach got up to 3m! Pretty high for a girl from northern Germany. It was amazing! Everytime a Wave hit me it threw me back almost all the way into the beach and if I was still drop enough in the water it me back out for meters. When I got out of the water and onto the sand it was sticking everywhere. And it didn’t matter how hard I tried to get it off, I just couldn’t get rid of it.

But still it was one of the best beaches I’ve ever been to. Also because the long way gave it a more private feeling with only few people there. Even if they way is long with no bit of shadow it is totally worth the walk! I will definitely go there again if I get the chance!

Mohana Bay
Mohana Bay
The Green Sand Beach
The Green Sand Beach

 

 

 

One thought on “Mahana Bay – Green Sand Beach

Leave a Reply

